Bad Religion Christmas Album

5 Dec

Bad Religion has been around the music scene for pretty much as long as I can remember. And a smile crossed my face when I saw they released a Christmas Album this year. Part of the reason for that is that a band that has been the center of so much controversy in the past and present has decided to put their own twist on Christmas this year.
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I listened to the songs. Would they turn Christmas songs that I really love into some creation I didn’t like? I’m pleased to say they didn’t. In fact I love the album.

My absolute favorite song on the album is their version of White Christmas. I love the Bing Crosby version, it was written at a time when life was a little different than it is now. Bad Religion has of course picked up the tempo in a punk style. It reminded me that life has a little faster pace than it did when the song was first written.
And their version of Hark the Herald Angels, is a perfect blend of Christmas tradition and punk. The song starts out acapella, and then kicks into a punk pace. It’s kind of like Christmas caroling with an attitude.
So if you’re looking something a little different this Christmas season, this may be the cd for you to add to the Christmas collection.

bad religion
Christmas Songs

Leave a Reply

